[ Topics Top ]

History of Topics 2013

January February March April May June July August September October November December

30 October

Iyama Gets Meijin Title and Triple Crowns!

  Iyama Yuta wins Meijin title, defeating the defending title holder, Yamashita Keigo by 4-1. The fifth game of the 38th Meijin title match (best of seven series) was held on 16 and 17 October 2013 in Yamanashi prefecture. Taking black, Iyama beats Yamashita by 4.5 points after 258 moves and wins Meijin title for the first time in three years. Yamashita could not win his third consecutive Meijin title.

The full results of the series are given as follows:
  Game 1 5 & 6 September Yamashita (W) won by resignation
  Game 2 19 & 20 September Iyama (W) won by resignation
  Game 3 25 & 26 September Iyama (B) won by 1.5 points
  Game 4 9 & 10 October Iyama (W) won by resignation
  Game 5 16 & 17 October Iyama(B) won by 4.5 points

  Iyama became only the second player, after Cho Chikun, to have held all three biggest titles (Kisei, Meijin and Honinbo) simultaneously. Iyama also becomes a sextuple-title holder again.


Past Sextuple Crown Holder:
  - Iyama Yuta: March 2013 to April 2013 (Kisei, Honinbo, Tengen, Oza, Gosei, Judan)
Past Quintuple Crown Holder:
  - Cho U: Apr 2009 to Oct 2009 (Meijin, Judan, Tengen, Oza, Gosei)
Past Quadruple Crown Holders:
  - Kato Masao: Nov 1979 to Apr 1980 (Honinbo, Judan, Tengen, Oza)
Aug 1987 to Apr 1988 (Meijin, Judan, Oza, Gosei)
  - Cho Chikun: Mar 1983 to Apr 1983 (Kisei, Meijin, Honinbo, Judan)
  - Kobayashi Koichi: Mar 1986 to Oct 1986 (Kisei, Meijin, Judan, Tengen)

Fujita Gets Shinjin O Title!

  Fujita Akihiko 3-dan pro won Shinjin O title (‘King of New Stars’), defeating Yo Seiki 7-dan pro by 2-0. The second game of the 38th Shinjin O tournament (best of three games) was played at the Kansai Ki-in in Osaka on 26 September 2013. Fujita Akihiko 3-dan pro (B) beat Yo 7-dan pro by resignation after 181 moves. Fujita was the runner -up of the 37th Shinjin O in 2012 and finally gets the King of New Stars title in 2013.
The full results of the series are given as follows:
  Game 1 17 September Fujita (W) won by resignation
  Game 2 26 September Fujita (B) won by resignation

About Fujita Akihiko 3dan pro
  - Age: 21 years old
  - Became a pro: the year 2006
  - Winning percentage in the Japanese official tournament (as of 20 Sept. 2013): 59.2% (106 wins - 73 losses)

Dramatic Result in Ryusei Tournament!

  The 22nd Ryusei tournament sponsored by Igo Shogi Channel brought a dramatic result. Yamashita Keigo (Meijin) and Kono Rin 9-dan pro played for the final game of the Ryusei tournament and the triple Ko miraculously happened! After the consultation with Michael Redmond 9-dan pro who was the referee, a play-off game was set up on the same day. Taking black, Yamashita defeated Kono by resignation and won his second Ryusei title.

Murakawa Wins Agon Kiriyama Cup

  The final game of the 20th Agon Kiriyama cup was held in Kyoto in 5 October 2013.
  Murakawa Daisuke 7-dan pro won his first Agon Kiriyama cup, defeating Shida Tatsuya 6-dan pro by 3.5 moves after 246 moves.

Copyright©Nihonkiin all rights reserved